Boom Bap & Blues : Jared Evan & Statik Selektah Mixtape Review

Take some Stevie & Nas & mix it up in a pot/ and what the hell do you get/ you got a hell of a flow – Jared Evan 

Everyone & their mother has been talking about Justin Timberfake’s latest offering 20/20 nonsense experience which I absolutely dislike. However thirsting for some of that blue eyed soul that I can rock to with my girl, I scoured the internets looking for it. Luckily, the universe was listening & sent me down a path that led to discovering Jared Evan. I didn’t realize that I had heard this kid on my favorite TV show, Entourage, I was drawn to the fact that Statik Selektah had produced an r&b soul album. I pressed play & thus began my journey into the land of Boom Bap & Blues.

Boom Bap & Blues

BLUE 

I love this coz I always consider soul music by a white boy to be “blue eyed soul”. Statik Selektah delivers a beat that would make DJ Premier proud to have been an influence to the kid. Jared sings about how he feels there shouldn’t be genres in music. I feel like this song is about not letting yourself into a pigeon hole, just make good music with soul. Fantastic jump off into the mixtape! Quotable: All I try is to strike a chord/ tell me what’s a genre even for? 

Uma Thurman

UMA THURMAN FT LIL FAME OF M.O.P

This beat is hard body yo! No wonder they recruited Fame for this one. Of course from the title you know this is an ode to that girl with looks that can kill. Fame’s verse isn’t that memorable though. He raps about someone getting killed or something but you can’t knock Jared for the solid vocals & deadly lyrics.  Quotable: “She’s a villain with the best sex/ Uma Thurman she’s a killer in a black dress”. Do you see what he did there? Props to the kid’s wordplay.

THE DEVIL WEARS PRADA

This kid must watch a lot of movies. The beat sounds like 9th Wonder & Alchemist’s bastard child. This is the first song that’s a bit meh. I can still rock to this. I mean, I can see myself getting drunk to this with my girl laying on my chest singing along. Jared’s got bars yo! He delivers a solid verse toward the end. I get the song as it’s about to end, this is a jam for all those drama queens we date & the damaged girls outchea! Niiiiiice!

 BLACK & WHITE FT JOEY BADA$$

Yo! First off, the kid Joey Bada$$ is on this, how can it suck right? The beat is a monster. The boom bap is perfect for Joey’s flow. Jared delivers, sounding like a younger Robin Thicke on this with just a tinge of Justin Timberlake. This is the kid’s weakness, he doesn’t sound like himself but rather like a fusion of existing blue eyed soul artists. This is the jam that reminds you of that girl that broke your heart coz she’s cold to what you truly are. She only sees you for what she wants to see. Only into the surface & not what’s within.  Quotable: It’s funny how no grey bring more blues/ and how no pain no gain is so true!” 

PRO-CREATE FT ACTION BRONSON

Yo! Statik Selektah called in the favours huh? Two XXL Freshmen on this kid’s mixtape back to back. The jam kicks off with Bronson’s verse & the bearded one goes in hard. He’s bitching how he can’t let go off this girl whose sex has got him hooked. The kid Jared uses music as a metaphor for making sweet passionate love to his woman. I love this. The beat is so soulful with just the right amount of scratches. Yo! Statik Selektah is officially the new DJ Premier. This is the best song on here so far! Can he do better? You gotta play this when you’re getting it on with your girl/ dude/ hand/ doll…whatever tickles your fancy, just put this on.

TELEVISION FT WAIS P

This kicks off with heavy kicks that are reminiscent of Marco Polo. Whoa! I was too quick to call it, this is the best song on here. Jared sings to that crush we all have on the TV but at the same time he’s talking about how he would want to watch his love & do his favorite things with her without looking back. Wais then comes on with a drug filled verse. This song could be about getting high, when you hit play, you can’t press rewind. I’m confused. Nah. It’s drugs, sending you to lala land like the idiot box. Quotable: Think I lost my fire to the MDMA/ they bout to send me away/ Janis Joplin, pill poppin, drinkin Vodka all day! – Wais P. 

TOAST FT HOODIE ALLEN

I don’t care too much for this sample. It’s been used too much before yet strange enough I can’t remember what song it is. This is a victory lap type record about celebrating achieving your goals & reaching for higher goals. Like everyone else who made it, he bitches about the life. This is the first joint I don’t care about on this but I want to listen to this Hoodie Allen kid. Yawnfest. He doesn’t deliver a memorable verse.

NIGHT LIGHT FT TERMANOLOGY

How can a Statik Selektah mixtape be complete without his BFF Termanology. This is another tune you can bump while making sweet, passionate love to your woman. If you’re like me who likes your women thick/ fat then they’ll disagree to the message. This song is about fucking with the lights on. I like this & Termanology’s verse is just nasty enough making it a perfect blend with Jared’s smooth vocals. Quotable: I’m the one she likes when the night’s long/ coz I give her good conversation & the pipe’s strong! Amen!

ARE WE ALMOST THERE YET

What? The kid wants the tape to end? Already? The beat is nice. Very mellow. Jared sings the hook effortlessly, like he’s smoking in the booth. I love the message, it’s about chasing your dreams so he’s asking if he’s almost there. Jared, judging from this tape, you’re almost there brov! This is a dream chaser’s anthem no doubt. He spits in the second verse. He reminds me of Kendrick Lamar. The kid might want to flip what Drake does & become a singer who raps. The bars & flow are so solid!

SUNDAY 

I always think Sunday is the most useless day of the week so I automatically think this joint is useless. I’m wrong. It’s maad soulful & Jared goes all introspective talking about how much he loves hip hop & how it makes him feel. This is some laid back shit you can smoke to. Pretty short just like the intro. No wonder. It’s the end of the tape.

If you’re looking for something different in blue eyed soul, get this tape. If you love the boom bap era from the golden age of hip hop, get this tape. If you love music that you can feel, get this tape. Statik Selektah blessed Jared with some of his best beats & Jared didn’t waste them. The kid is yet to find what will make him stand out but this is beautiful work in progress.

Favorite jams: Television, Blue, Procreate, Black & White, Are We Almost There Yet, Uma Thurman.

You can download Boom Bap & Blues here

Pamoja!!!

Leave a Reply

