Sorry For The Delay : Just A Band Album Review

Just like the name of this album, I must first apologise for the delay in sharing my thoughts about one of the most anticipated albums in the 254. Are you as excited as I am? Well, without further ado, let’s go in.

Life Of The Party

The drums take me to the jungle from the jump off. Then this shit quickly shifts & sounds like something Dilla would be proud of. I get so lost in the beat; I couldn’t give a fuck what the song is about. This is that shit you just dance to with a hot chick you barely know & go tribal. Love the strings at the end, trippy rock & roll. I could do drugs to this.

Dunia Ina Mambo

Oh shit! Blink decided to remake the Tahamaki theme song. If you aren’t from Section 80, yaani you are a 90s baby, you have no idea what I’m talking about. I used to love this song so I can’t be mad at this shit! It’s about time someone gave it a facelift. Quotable: “Nafunga bao/ niite Peter Dawo/ ubaya ya binadamu ni rahisi kusahau/ change ni chetu/ lakini chako ni chako/ mtu wangu ah ah wacha vako!”

Thank You/ Rebel & A Cause

The title takes me back to my childhood, watching the James Dean classic, Rebel Without A Cause.  Blink kicks the verse off with a quotable: “We learn from our mistakes & my mistake was you/ I didn’t have a clue/ that you were never true/ the truth about the truth is you can never hide it!” Mimi kwisha! This is my shit right here.  This is emo & dance your ass off at the same damn time, it will help dance away the pain of a break up.

After 3 & a half minutes it switches up like Kendrick’s Sing about me/ I’m dying of thirst. Rebel & A Cause is nice & dark with a promise of sunshine. I could easily wake up to this every morning.  It’s short though.

Probably For Lovers

This is the 1st single. The instruments on this made me think JAB had flipped the script & got Eric Wainaina’s Best Band In Africa on board but it’s all them. Anyone who has been on the receiving end of unrequited love will relate to this. I am in love with my best friend, I should know yo! This jam would be fantastic live! Quotable: I’ve had this feeling that I could never ever tell you/ I might be wrong but you’d rather be my friend/ maybe in future lives then we could be together/ we’ll make a promise that we’ll always be ok”

Till We Try

This one sounds weird, even for Just A Band. Blink sounds like he’s saying “Do it dry” which makes me think that it’s about unprotected sex, you know, do it dry fry bila mundai? Ha! The horns make me think of Fela Kuti. It’s actually a pretty positive tune about taking chances, seizing opportunities & shit! Wait. At the end it’s a love song? I’m confused. I could play this as my girl & I take a ride on the Thika Super Highway though. Road trip music this is. Very soulful ending with the horns yo! I feel like a pimp right now.

Doot Doot

I love the “doot doot” chick voice in the background but I don’t know how I feel about this. It’s a bit too feel good, like I can picture children frolicking in fields of daisies on daisies playing a ring around a rosie! It’s not a horrible tune, just a bit too sweet & I don’t want diabetes. It would sound great live coz of the instruments though.  Oh shit! At 4.25 an epic beat comes on, sadly no rhyming or singing.

Family Ties

Another title that takes me back to my childhood, there used to be a TV show called Family Ties with Michael J Fox, loved it! This sounds like something produced by Danger Mouse! JAB just channeled Gnarls Barkley for this. This deserves to be played at ignorant levels yo! Is this about stealing someone’s wife? You know, breaking up a home? Family ties? Nah, I think it’s about accepting changes in life; that thing I hate called growing up!

Another Chance

Very soulful intro, it’s a whole minute in before any vocal kick in. This is that “make up sex” type music. When she’s pissed off, put on this on & watch her drop the panties & give you that vagina. The backdrop I picture listening to this is intense love making as it rains outside. If I created a mixtape called “For the Panties” this is on that playlist yo!

Matatizo

The title brings back another childhood memory. I recall the “Matatizo Nimeyazoea” record by Super Wanyika that my mother used to sing along to as I did my homework. It kicks off & I realize that Blink & the crew have given that Issa Juma classic a facelift! This is such a tuuuuuuune! For those who know that the struggle is real Blink offers a helping hand. Great record for when you’re feeling down. Musically I appreciate the fact that they didn’t just copy paste the old jam, JAB have made it their own. The electric guitar is the icing on a perfectly baked cake! This is undeniably the best record on the album.

Get Down

Back to the future with this one. This is the wild out in the club record, complete with sirens & shit! Another one that deserves to be played at ignorant levels, it’s just stupid music to get turnt up to yo!

Bush Baby Disco

I think this is the part of the album that requires you to get up & dance.  That intro is confusing but I love this from jump! The beat is insane! There’s a weird voice chanting some shit in a language that might be Luhya. I couldn’t care less, this has me dancing. After thought: Is that Joey Muthengi saying, “Where are you going?”……Nah!

Looking For Home

Back to some emo shit. I like this a lot. It appeals to my tormented darker side. The bit where Jim sings “I’m looking for a home/ somewhere I can take a break/ somewhere in the sky” I’m convinced that this song is about wishing to die & take a final break from all the bullshit. I’ll have this one on repeat for the dark days.

Twende Kazi (Apocalypse Mix)

Now I’m sure the last song was about death. I like this, Blink sounds so ridiculously sexy. He uses that voice he used on “Hey” where it sounds like he’s talking only to your ear & no one else. If this music thing stops working out Blink can try late night radio. This is a great wake up song to kick start the day. Twende Kazi. No Jokes.

S-W-E-E-T

The title reminds me of the Common record where he disses Drake. The beat is superior! Paul Epworth who produces for Florence & The Machine would be proud of this. It sounds so epic! After a minute & a half with no vocals I start to hope that none show up!  Fantastic 4 & a half minutes of banging beats this is!

A While

There’s a hot sounding chick on this talking about a dream where she made origami stars. Bougie much? Is he talking about the uncertainty that the future holds? Coz that’s what this makes me think of. The people we are around now may not necessarily be the people we will be with, in say, the next 12 months, fuck that, next 3 months yo! The recorded message at the end is a nice touch.

Just A Band need not apologize for the delay coz it was worth it. Even though my favorite Just A Band album will always be Scratch To Reveal, this band keeps me loving every album coz they are all so different. 82 didn’t sound like Scratch To Reveal & Sorry For the Delay doesn’t sound like 82. This constant boldness to reinvent themselves is what makes Dan, Jim, Blink & Mbithi true kings in the music game.

The band says that the album was about what they learned & missed. I like that this album took me back to my childhood that I sorely miss & my numerous past relationships that I am just now learning to let go of. Like I always say, Blink writes the soundtrack to my life. I hope you will enjoy it as much as I did.

Favorite records: Dunia Ina Mambo, Thank You/ Rebel & A Cause, Probably For Lovers, Till We Try, Another Chance, Matatizo, Looking For Home.

Feel free to cop the album here for your friends, lovers, family & enemies coz even bad people deserve good music yo!

I leave you with the record that made me fall in love with this band.

Pamoja!!!

Update: The album credits say that Issa Juma’s band was The Mighty Cavaliers. My childhood memories say that it was Les Wanyika. Let’s save that argument for when I’m drunk. Ok.

5 Responses to “Sorry For The Delay : Just A Band Album Review”

  1. You beat me to reviewing this album in my blog. I was actually meaning to tweet you jana & ask you like it. Excellent review, JAB excellent album! Matatizo is sure the best song in this album, the electric guitar! Kwisha mimi 🙂 I love JAB.

    • Saliva Vic Says:

      Thanks! I really enjoyed the album I thought I must do it. I had planned to post the Meek Mill but this is an album I actually liked!

  2. Something untold happens to an artist when they take a hiatus – too long and the fans forget your style, too short and we think that you had not grown enough in that period for the next album. This may work for or against you.

    Just A Band took advantage of both of these factors. They seemed to have maintained their style and still have grown as artists. After track number 3, I am uncertain of what to expect the next one shall be like; which is a good thing because we need an album shall keep you guessing to the very end – something done exceptionally with ‘Sorry for the delay’. Flip in the album and you shall stumble upon a track that shall match your mood. In the mood for partying – Life of the party’, ‘Get down’ and ‘Bush baby Disco’ shall sure ramp you up. Silly beat – ‘Doot doot’ cannot go wrong. Mellow it down – ‘Matatizo’ and ‘Another chance’ is on repeat for the rest of your day, some throw back and ‘Dunia ina mambo’ checks in; and as a pleasant surprise if you ask me!

    Just A Band seemed to lie on the extremes of music production with the beat being either too mellow or too hyped up – there really was no in between this time round. The best of two albums enmeshed into one. The uniting factor among all the tracks is the excellent instrumentality. Even without the vocalists, the album would sell well as a pop album; more often than not, it that the vocals drowned beneath the plethora of electro-generated instruments.
    For the next album, I would suggest going fully techno, and stamp your name in the Kenya music scene as one of the brave bands to trend this frontier. Sadly, demographics are yet to fully embrace the beauty of stories being told without lyrics.

    The saving grace of this album is that they play with no rules. And the instruments and the excellent production is what shall remain in the hearts of the fans until the next album is released.

    The hiatus worked for Just A Band.

  3. Reblogged this on iDTopChef and commented:
    Just A Band.

Leave a Reply

