Poverty loosens morals!

“And there was days I had to go to Tek’s house with a note/ sayin Gloria can I borrow some food I’m dead broke” – Ghostface Killah

I found myself on very familiar territory this weekend. It’s a little paradise known to myself as Poverty Island. Those of you reading this and you’ve always got money in your bank account regardless of the date, will have no clue. However I am sure most of you can relate.

Some Kenyans visit Poverty Island on the 3rd week of the month just before pay day while majority of Kenyans reside on Poverty Island all their lives! This is due to the high cost of living and being taught dick about money management growing up! The worst thing about this phenomenon is that if your parents lived on Poverty Island you will most likely inherit this piece of crap island from them as well!

Another issue that affects the residents of Poverty Island is loose morals! Have you ever noticed that the poorest people will live the most dishonest & vice filled lives on the planet? This is my personal opinion so don’t be all up on my nuts as I break down why this is the case.

1. Drugs & Alcohol : If you live on Poverty Island you will want to get intoxicated at the lowest cost possible. This usually leads to consuming cheap alkahol with a higher addiction level or resorting to chemical warfare. Chemical warfare will involve mixing all manner of drinks & substances in a bid to get more for less.

2. Poor Man’s Greed Syndrome : The residents of Poverty Island all suffer from this. When a poor man/ woman is bought food & drink by a rich partner we tend to go overboard because we can’t be too sure when’s the next time we’ll enjoy this windfall! The poor man will drink way too much or eat to the point of sickness. This only results in hospital bills!

3. Sticky Fingaz : Being stranded on Poverty Island will turn the best man into a corrupt thieving summamabish! Look at cops and that’s all the proof you need. Due to perennial poverty our brothers, sisters, mothers and fathers in the force will extort bribes from anyone & everyone. The guys in parliament are no different, stealing that CDF paper out of their fear of Poverty Island.

These are the few that I could come up with off the top of my head but I am sure as you sit there and think about it, you can come up with more reasons why poverty leads to loose morals!

Here’s a joint that got me through some lean economic times coming up! Be inspired and not unwired brothers & sisters!

Pamoja!!!

3 Responses to “Poverty loosens morals!”

  1. Bella, the 3rd week is too far. I happen to visit Poverty Island by the 2nd week of the month. Thanks to a Mr Mwangi increasing the rent by 30% and thereby, robbing me of the little I was using to go shake a leg during Mulembe Night and all other theme nights. Tsk! And not forgetting the power brokers at Kengen – who also decided to increase the charges for my power useage (but I think them damn fags are stealing from me cos, I only go to my Queendom to shell, pee, shower, sleep and have a change of clothes for the next day on the grind). Nkt!

    The loose morals … some females who visit Poverty Island watch way too many music videos and decide they need to look the same as the video vixens. Since the 8-5 can’t cover that, it leaves only one option on the table … to use the only cheque in the world that NEVER bounces, whether it’s the 1st or the 31st of the month.

  2. br()k3ncYde (mkenya tu) Says:

    summamabish..lol nice post.

  3. Very great post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I have truly loved surfing around your blog posts.
    In any case I’ll be subscribing in your rss feed and I am hoping you write once more very soon!

Leave a Reply

