The Blueprint 3 – Jay-Z Album Review

“For the colour of money like a Tom Cruise flick/ Except I put eight balls on corners without using pool sticks” – Jay-Z

What we talking bout feat Luke

This is the “keeping it real” joint. A great introduction to the older Jay Z who’s not willing to go back and shuns his and other rappers youthful asinine lyrics. It prepares you for the mature content (read: how ridiculously wealthy and dope he is)

Thank you

 

I love the production on this one the minute the beat drops. It’s reminiscent of 90’s golden era summer rap music, very Kaygee-esque. The production credits go to Ye and No I.D. This is the most quotable song on the whole record. Absolutely brilliant. I hope the rest of the album keeps this tempo. Only Hov can get his brag swag on to a thousand trillion and sound modest.

D.O.A

This is the single that dropped and changed my mind about this album being another piece of crap like Kingdom Come. Stellar production by No I.D, gutter lyrics speaking on what was on every rap fan’s mind.

Run This Town feat Rihanna & Kanye West

This is Jay’s most successful single to date, topping charts in the UK and US. Apart from Ye & No I.D.’s beats on this and Ye’s verse, the song is sub par. Jay spits so lazy and Ri Ri just annoys the crap out of me like nails on a chalk board. FFWD to Ye’s verse and skip to the next track.

Empire State of Mind feat Alicia Keys

I love the production by relatively new kid on the block, Al Shux, definitely head bobbing music mayne! This is the soundtrack to New York, Jay paints a picture of his home town in a way that only he could. I feel like this is the 5th Ave version of N.Y. State of mind by Nas.

Real As It Gets feat Jeezy

This beat sounds like that one song on The Inspiration, “What you taking bout”. It’s very laid back, bang it in your whip music. It’s not anything classic but has some good lines, “Hov’s the audio equivalent of Braille/ that’s why they feel me in the favelas in Brazil”

On To The Next One feat Swizz Beatz

 

The drum kick is kind of hyphy at the jump off. Dance fans may recognize this sample from the Justice hit record D.A.N.C.E. This would be great in the club, seems that’s what Swizzy is good for these days. Jay lets the world know how ridiculously papered he is these days. “Niggaz in the same spot/ me I’m dodging raindrops/ meaning I’m on vacay/ chilling on the big yacht/ Yeah I got on flip flops/ white Louis boat shoes/ yall should grow the fuck up/ come here let me coach you/. Shots fired at the haters. DMX? On to the next one.

Off that feat Drake

“Welcome to the future”? Then I hear the same old wack Timbaland pop beats? The flow is ridiculous I can only wish the beat could have been the same. Drake pulls a Patti La Belle, only singing the hook. I think it’s a waste.

A Star Is Born feat J Cole

An ode to all the rappers that came through and smashed the game commercially, from Mase to Weezy. It wouldn’t be Jay without shots fired at the usual suspects like P, Fif and X. Jay makes sure to let us know he has longevity over all the others. The kid J Cole holds his own, peep this, “Clap for him/ then applaud Hov he gave him the platform/ flow so sick thought he wrote the rap for him/ No sir, the flow cold as the shoulders of gold digger hoes when a broke nigga approaches/ told yall focus man/ I’ll let you mothafuckaz soak it in/” WHAT!!!!!!!!

Venus vs Mars

The beat sounds like Timbaland jocking that Scott Storch beat of the Tipping Point, don’t say nothing.I like the opposite attracts concept to relationships from the hook up to the break up. “Was supposed to takeover, I caught her bumping ether” “Then for the Ponzi scheme shawty just made off” LOL! Yall who don’t stay up on current affairs won’t catch that last one.

Already Home feat Kid Cudi

The kid Cudi pulls a Patti La Belle. 30 seconds in and my head is already bobbing! Very mellow in true Kid Cudi style, Ye and No I.D. provide the perfect canvas for Jay to paint on. “ Niggaz is mad/ oh they call me a camel/ but I’ll last in the drought/ what the fuck I’m an animal”. Good stuff!

Hate feat Kanye West

808’s revisited. Ye opens this with some wack nursery rhyming. This is the ultimate brag swag jam as Jay Z blows his trumphet harder than a Mad House hooker blows a white dude holding dollars. It’s not that good, thank God it’s short.

Reminder

Jay Z reads blogs? Wow! “All bloggers with comments, please I come in peace/ let’s see if I can cure your amnesia by the time I leave/”. I  like it, Jay reminds us of all his achievements. It’s apparently produced by Timbaland, sounds different in a good way. “What the hell have you done/ to even have an opinion on what I’ve been doing/ what the hell have yall won/ only thing you can identify with is losing” OUCH!!!!!

So Ambitious feat Pharell

This beat reminds me of that one song on Universal Mind Control, Punch Drunk Love. The Neptunes need to step their game up. I love this record though because it provides inspiration to anyone who’s ever wanted to make it at something and gotten put down by everyone around you. Head bobbing joint!

Forever Young feat Mr. Hudson

Mr. Hudson does justice to Alphaville’s “Forever Young” that Jay and Ye have sampled for this one. I can relate to this song! I feel this way everyday! Jay should consider doing a club remix for this, I can see my boy Turbo Funk spinning the house version at Double Inn loosely on a nigga’s birthday!

Jay-Z is definitely still one of the best emcees to ever pick up a microphone and even as he turns 40, he’s managed to record one of the best hip hop albums I have listened to in a minute. Not a classic like The Blueprint but way better than any other album in between.

Best Joints: Thank You, D.O.A, Empire State of Mind, Already Home, Forever Young.

Pamoja!!!

2 Responses to “The Blueprint 3 – Jay-Z Album Review”

  1. Madhouse hooker blowing a white guy with dollars.

    Nice.

  2. Kinda but the review didn’t reflect the Hip Hopi felt like you were reviewing a ne-yo,Dream n Co. album..but a nice piece of literature….

    PEACE!!!!

Leave a Reply

