10 Years Wiser – Wyre Album Review…It’s a long one!

I am so late on my reviews so give a brother a break if you’ve been banging these joints for a minute. I’ve been trying to detoxify and become a better person before the turn of the year. Check it though; I decided to start off with a dude who’s been doing it big for the past decade! I’m going in!

Intro

Really fresh! Nice way to jump off. The kick is reminiscent of that Sean Paul jam about watch the girl ‘em roll. He should have done a full length record on this beat.

Uprising

The one on radio and TV. This was actually produced and mixed by Arif Cooper himself in Jamaica! To the reggae challenged, this is the dude who created the relationships riddim that Wyre and everyone’s mother sang over. I like it.

Everyday

A Ulopa production. It sounds girly and I’m sure the ladies will love this one. It’s typical Love Child. Ulopa did a good job on production though.

Usiniache feat Chege

This one has Chege from TMK on it! Excited. Definite banger! Great production and I’m shocked to see Maich Black in the credits! This joint has more surprises than BBA Revolution. The downside about the beat is that it sounds like Musyoka circa 2006, which if you think about is still pretty fantastic.

Without You

It starts off as a ballard. Some danceable finger snaps on this. Very sentimental lyrics. I was reviewing this as my girlfriend was listening and she was ecstatic. Dudes if you’re in the doghouse, bump this shit!

Top of the game

Another great beat from Ulopa. Dancehall! Sad that I had to reduce the volume as my girl took a call. Definitely a club banger, must be played loud coz otherwise lyrically it fails to really grab your attention.

Sina Makosa

Goodness! Wyre tried to put a new spin on this classic. I must admit the ragga feel is fresh, especially the synths.

Bringing it home feat P-Square

Sigh! P-Square are on this one. It’s kind of screwed up crunk. Once again, Ulopa on the beat. I don’t think it’s that good but I’m sure P-Square fans will love it. This song has the potential to get both the East and West African fans motivated.

Bigga Tune

Oooh! Sexy Chick Voice! This is the brag swag jam, Wyre let’s the world know how dope his shit is. It’s alright, very reggae-esque.

Njoo Nami

A love jam with brilliant chords that make me think of Harry Kimani. Wyre has dedicated this one to the wifey, lovely! Definitely a jam that will be played at yuppie weddings as the couple enjoys their first dance. (Hanifa)

Can’t Change feat Navio

My man Navio makes a guest appearance on this. It’s very hip hop! Navio rips the beat a new one, sample this, “You can judge me if you want/ you can try to change me but you won’t/ it’s East Africa till the death of me/ Everybody heated up, Yeah I got the recipe/”. This is getting old but it’s Ulopa, once again on the production tip. Fuego!

Good Man

Very conscious! This is a well written song for the working man. I was chanting to this mayne. Had he included one of the Mau Mau rappers on this, shit would be a classic.

All for you feat. Faze

This is very high energy. One of my favorite Naija boys, Faze is on this one. Produced by Maich Black, sounding like Musyoka circa ’06, the lyrics are weak and its dedicated to Naija girls. Hmmmmm…….

Run Dem

This one is kind of boring due to its Crunk-esque nature. It’s produced by Ulopa 😦

Don’t get enough

Another boring song, makes me wonder if these last two are fillers. The album is long enough so what’s the deal with these two? On the upside, the beat is sick and sounds young.

Track like what

Wow these are many songs!  Great production from Ulopa. If Wyre drops this as a single and gets great dancers showing their moves, this one could be a monster! DNG would have hyped this beat more than Wyre does.

Kolo feat. Nicon

Nicon, Naija boys based in USIU make an appearance here. This has the potential to be a big tune. It appeals well to both the East and West African market. Big up Dillie for the beat but did I hear one of the boys rap, “Shake your bacchus”?

What do they know

This is a love song. Gay! FFWD!

Overprotective

I’ve heard this one before, it’s rather old but cool. I got up to dance to this.

Protect Me

Loving the beat mayne! It’s kind of roots reggae. I would say it’s the best record in the album.

This album is rather long but definitely worth the time and money. I however feel that I’d have been better off without “Run Dem” and “Don’t get enough”. I’ll keep it in rotation in my changer definitely.

Best Jams: Protect Me, Kolo, Good Man, Usiniache, Can’t Change

Pamoja!!!

6 Responses to “10 Years Wiser – Wyre Album Review…It’s a long one!”

  1. horsley (hb of nicon) Says:

    nuh….it wasn’t shake ur bacchus..its shake ur bakasi…..bakasi is ” THA

    behind”…SUR U KNW DAT 1…CHEERS…

  2. NICE REVIEW MA NUCCA!!

    • thanks…it was a pretty long ass album though…i was tipsy by the time i finished the review….coz i was sipping as i went on….

  3. Definetly luv that jam by wyre n nicon-kollo a dillie homeboyz production.

  4. I am extremely inspired ttogether with your
    writing skills and also with the layout for your weblog.
    Is this a paid topic or did you modify it yourself?
    Anyway stay up the excellent quality writing, it’s uncommon to look a great blog
    like this one today..

Leave a Reply

